Full Nudity on Broadcast TV?

Seventy pro-family organizations have joined to oppose President Obama’s nomination of Tom Wheeler as new head of the Federal Communications Commission because of his lack of commitment to hold the line on obscenity and nudity on network television.

You can read the news story: Conservative Groups Urge Senate to Block Wheeler Over Broadcast Indecency

Below is the text of a letter opposing Mr. Wheeler’s nomination, signed by the leaders of these 70 pro-family organizations, including David Fowler.


July 9, 2013

Dear Senator,

We are writing to ask that you oppose Tom Wheeler, President Obama’s nominee to chair the Federal Communications Commission, unless he agrees to lead a vigorous effort to enforce the federal decency law, 18 U. S. C. 1464, which prohibits indecency and profanity on broadcast TV and on radio.

Mr. Wheeler was given the opportunity to take a stand on decency enforcement during his nomination hearing but instead sidestepped the issue.  Senator Tim Scott (R-SC) asked Mr. Wheeler, “Where would you take the broadcast decency policy?”  In response, Mr. Wheeler’s recognized that indecency is a problem, referencing concern for his grandchildren, but did not discuss enforcement. Mr. Wheeler can’t just say there is a problem; he needs to say how he will use his enforcement authority as FCC chairman to fix it.

The American public has a right to decency at home. No network or shock jock has any right to invade that sacred space with indecent programming. Yet, the immediate past chairman of the FCC, Julius Genachowski, refused to bring even one enforcement action on indecency during his four years in office.

The FCC is the guardian of decency on broadcast TV and radio. The next FCC chair needs to show leadership on the issue and enforce the law, which he is free to do after the U. S. Supreme Court decision in FCC V. Fox of last June. It is time for the Commission to do its job and ensure the public airwaves are not filled with nudity and profanity.

There is no question that broadcast decency is a critical issue with the American public. More than 100,000 people submitted comments recently to the FCC in opposition to a proposed weakening of decency enforcement standards.  Only the networks and a handful of their supporters were for the proposal.

The American people have had enough.  We will be patient no longer.  We will not sit by while the public airwaves are filled with pornographic images and profane speech.

Senator, you have an opportunity to clarify Mr. Wheeler’s views on the enforcement of the Federal decency law before the U. S. Senate votes on his confirmation and we ask you to do so now.


L. Brent Bozell III, President Media Research Center

Patrick A. Trueman, President Morality in Media

Tim Winter, President Parents Television Council

Tim Wildmon, President American Family Association

Mat Staver, Chairman Liberty Counsel Action

Tom North Decent TV

Frank Cannon, President American Principles Project

Larry Jacobs, Managing Director, World Congress of Families

Don Feder Don Feder Associates

David Barton WallBuilders

Penny Young Nance, President, CEO Concerned Women for America

Jan Garbett, President Women for Decency

Chuck Hurley, Vice-President & Chief Counsel, The Family Leader

Cathi Herrod, President Center for Arizona Policy

Tom Shields, Chairman Coalition for Marriage and Family

Mike McManus, President Marriage Savers

Rick Schatz, CEO pureHope

Tony Perkins, President Family Research Council

Phyllis Schlafly, President Eagle Forum

Dr. Josh D. McDowell. Author, Speaker.  CEO Josh McDowell Ministries

Dawn Hawkins, Executive Director Morality in Media

Dr. Ted Baehr, Chairman Christian Film & Television Commission

Tom Minnery, Senior Vice President Focus on the Family

Morton Blackwell, Chairman The Weyrich Lunch

Michael P. Farris, Chancellor Patrick Henry College

Phil Burress, President Citizens for Community Values Action

John D. Foubert, Ph.D., National President One in Four

Jim Backlin Christian Coalition of America

David Caton, President Florida Family Association, Inc

David E. Smith, Executive Director Illinois Family Institute

Janice Shaw Crouse, Ph.D. Director and Senior Fellow The Beverly LaHaye Institute Concerned Women for America

Phillip Cosby, State Director American Family Assoc. of KS & MO

Gene Mills, President Louisiana Family Forum

Joe Ortwerth Missouri Family Policy Council

Kris Mineau, President Massachusetts Family Institute

Bill Johnson, President American Decency AssociationDan Kleinman Library Watchdog SafeLibrariesRobert Kammer, President Maryland Coalition Against Pornography

Judith Gelernter Reisman, Ph.D. Visiting Professor of Law Liberty School of Law

John Helmberger, CEO Minnesota Family Council

David Fowler, President, Family Action of Tennessee, Inc

Rev. Jason J. McGuire, President New Yorker’s Family Research Foundation

C. Preston Noell III, President Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

Tiffany Leeper, President, Girls Against Porn & Human Trafficking Chief Liberation Officer The Gentlemen’s Posse

Diane Gramley, President
 American Family Association of Pennsylvania

Kent Ostrander, Executive Director The Family Foundation (KY)

Karen Testerman First Principles New Hampshire

Patrick E. Mangan, Executive Director Citizens for Community Values of Indiana

Micah Clark, Executive Director American Family Association of Indiana

Pamela Atkinson, Chair Utah Coalition Against Pornography

Tony Nassif President & Founder Preventing Abuse Foundation

Gary Glenn, President American Family Association of Michigan

Monica Boyer Kosciusko Silent NO More

John Stemberger, President Florida Family Policy Council

Sharon Slater, President Family Watch International

Rita G. Covelle, President  Morality in Media of Massachusetts

Jeffrey J. Ford MS, LMFT UCAP Board Member

Jill Geigle, President Arizona Family Council

Carol Soelberg, President United Families International

Jill C. Manning, Ph.D., LMFT Family Therapist & Researcher

Michael Geer, President Pennsylvania Family Institute

Julaine K. Appling, President Wisconsin Family Council

Janet M. LaRue, Esq. Jan LaRue & Associates

Maurine Proctor Editor-in-chief Meridian Magazine

Daniel Weiss, President The Brushfires Foundation

Elaine Silodor Berk, Co-director JONAH

Arthur Goldberg, Co-director JONAH

William J. Murray, Chairman Religious Freedom Coalition

Ann Redding, President, Christian Action League of Minnesota

Derek A. McCoy, President Maryland Family Alliance